2017 Service Award Winners

Each year, around graduation time, various awards are given out to students and community partners alike for their involvement in service to our DWU students and community.

Dave and Ann Mitchell Award for Exemplary Service
This award, named after the beloved Mitchell family, honors students who have performed an average of 100 hours of service per year while attending DWU, as well as demonstrate a value for service and community engagement.  Although this year’s winners were selected by the General Education committee, next year, the McGovern Center will be responsible for this award.

2017 Winners:
Ariana Arampatzis, Aberdeen
Ashton Diede, Menno
Landon Fischbach, Mellette
Tori Houwman, Mitchell
Isaac Van Essen, Sioux Falls
Katherine Vetch, Crystal Lake, Minn.

Community Partner of the Year Award
This award is presented to a community partner organization who consistently enhances and engages our students’ service-learning experiences.  This year, the award went to the Abbott House.  The Abbott House has offered several service opportunities to our students and engaged in a few community-based service-learning projects as well.

We also want to give a special congratulations to all our graduates!  We wish you the best in all your future adventures!  As George McGovern once said, “We may not be able to change the past, but we can help to shape the future.”

George McGovern, Eleanor McGovern